Tags » Abel Prize

The 2014 Abel Prize goes to Professor Yakov Sinai.

The Abel Prize foundation of Norway just announced the 2014 awardee of this prestigious prize for 2014. Named for the great Norwegian mathematician, Niels Henrik Abel, the prize was established by the Norwegian government in 2001 with an endowment of 200 million Norwegian kroner. 163 more words

Math In The Media

Yakov Sinai wins the Abel Prize

And I had the job of delivering, in a format suitable for non-mathematicians, a half-hour summary of Sinai’s work.  A tough task, especially since you can’t ask any experts for help without breaking the secrecy!   237 more words