Tags » Berlin Philharmonic

Music and The Wall

I was seven years old when the Berlin Wall came down. It was one of the first world events I remember. My parents, sister, and I gathered around our TV and watched the fuzzy images stream into our living room. 656 more words


Performance diary: ST. MATTHEW'S PASSION at Park Avenue Armory

10.4.14 – The two performances (October 7 and 8) that Lincoln Center’s White Light Festival scheduled of Bach’s St. Matthew’s Passion, performed by the Berlin Philharmonic with staging by Peter Sellars at the Park Avenue Armory, apparently sold out almost instantly. 420 more words

Performance Diary

Carnegie Hall Opens with Berlin Philharmoniker and Simon Rattle

On Wednesday night we attended the opening of Carnegie Hall,

not because we were among the elegantly dressed crowd that came for the gala

but because we liked what they were performing.The huge crowd… 218 more words

Retirement In New York

Slightly out of my comfort zone

I know next to nothing about classical music. In fact, my only knowledge probably comes from Thatcher’s privatisation campaign in the 1980s when the water boards were sold off and we were all subjected to Handel’s Water Music every day for months in the years when ITV and a young Channel 4 were the only commercial TV channels. 286 more words

Art And Culture

Die Suche

Concert is less than a week away and we are striving hard to make the last days count.

The Strings are being re-vamped by the one and only Grace Soedargo, working on tidbits we missed, styles and emotions we destroyed and giving solutions to technical problems. 351 more words


The Masterclass

This is my first post, and for a while I have been thinking about what I might say… I am a clarinettist and a young one. 480 more words