Tags » Book Suggestions By WCPL Staff

The Ice Cream Queen of Orchard Street by Susan Jane Gilman

Malka is a young child when her Russian Jewish family flees the pogroms to begin a new life in America. Like most Eastern Europeans who came in the early 20th Century, they find themselves crammed into the tenements of New York and working for pennies. 373 more words

Book Suggestions By WCPL Staff

All Joy and No Fun by Jennifer Senior

I have to admit that reading is such an escape for me that I rarely read anything directly applicable to my life. This includes books about: work, parenting, self-help, spirituality, politics, and global issues. 438 more words

Book Suggestions By WCPL Staff

Sycamore Row by John Grisham

John Grisham is in familiar territory back home in Mississippi with a fascinating legal battle. Eccentric and wealthy, Seth Hubbard despises most of his family and is estranged from everyone except his brother, Ancil… who has disappeared. 212 more words

Book Suggestions By WCPL Staff

Murder on Astor Place by Victoria Thompson

Fans of Anne Perry’s Charlotte and Thomas Pitt series should also enjoy this mystery series, called the Gaslight Mysteries. Author Victoria Thompson places her historical mysteries in New York City in the early 1900s, when Theodore Roosevelt had just become the chief of police. 333 more words

Book Suggestions By WCPL Staff

The Secret Life of Sleep by Kat Duff

Ever have a difficult time falling asleep? Wake up in the night and fret over hours of lost rest? Millions and millions of Americans struggle with sleep issues every night, adding one of the most basic human functions to an ever-growing list of things that perpetuate anxiety in our frantic modern world. 303 more words

Book Suggestions By WCPL Staff

Invisible City by Julia Dahl

Rebekah Roberts never knows how to answer the question, “Are you Jewish?” It’s true that her mother was Hasidic, so by Jewish law, the answer is yes. 286 more words

Book Suggestions By WCPL Staff

Half a King by Joe Abercrombie

Move over George R.R. Martin, there’s a new author of grim, dark, and bloody Fantasy in town. Well, actually, Joe Abercrombie (Twitter handle: @LordGrimdark) lives in Bath, England, and he’s been publishing his brand of “grimdark” Fantasy since 2006,  so he is neither “new” nor “in town.” But, I still maintain that Martin better watch his back and keep pecking away at his DOS based word processor as Abercrombie gains in popularity – and readers. 346 more words

Book Suggestions By WCPL Staff