Tags » Buddy Rogers

2. Bruno Sammartino

Date: 17th May 1963

Location: Madison Square Garden, New York, New York

Notes: Having broken away from the NWA and crowing the champion they wanted, disaster struck when Rogers suffered a mild heart attack which would render him unable to defend the newly formed WWWF Championship, at least on the kind of regular basis that the North East promoters would expect from a champion. 168 more words

Vince McMahon Sr.

1. Buddy Rogers

Date: 25th April 1963

Location: Rio De Janeiro

Notes: The first ever WWWF champion was Buddy Rogers who, as the story goes, was crowned the first ever WWWF Champion following a tournament that took place in Rio De Janeiro. 166 more words

Vince McMahon Sr.