Tags » Historical Fiction

Christian Reviewer Amy Drown: SING IN THE MORNING, CRY AT NIGHT is 'expertly crafted arrow that shoots straight for the heart'

Christian writer, editor, and blogger Amy Drown reviewed Barbara J. Taylor’s SING IN THE MORNING, CRY AT NIGHT this week. As a fan of the historical fiction genre, she described her expectations of reading the novel and critiqued it based on whether it met those expectations, various elements of craft, originality, and whether it would be appropriate for fans of Christian fiction. 60 more words

Interview with Author Susan Spann

June, 1565: Master ninja Hiro Hattori receives a pre-dawn visit from Kazu, a fellow shinobi working undercover at the shogunate. Hours before, the Shogun’s cousin, Saburo, was stabbed to death in the Shogun’s palace. 1,668 more words

Jessie: a review

Today, I have the honor to participate in Rebekah Lyn’s book release blog tour. As part of the tour, I was asked to read and review her book, … 938 more words

Writing

Buttons, That is All That Will Be Left of Us

A car slowed to a halt in front of her apartment and the driver stepped out and stood still, waiting. A few minutes later an old woman appeared, wobbling on her old cane as she walked towards the car carrying nothing but a small bag on her shoulder. 1,033 more words

Andrzej Wajda

Murder on Astor Place by Victoria Thompson

Fans of Anne Perry’s Charlotte and Thomas Pitt series should also enjoy this mystery series, called the Gaslight Mysteries. Author Victoria Thompson places her historical mysteries in New York City in the early 1900s, when Theodore Roosevelt had just become the chief of police. 333 more words

Book Suggestions By WCPL Staff

Review: Of Merchants and Heroes


Of Merchants and Heroes by Paul Waters
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is one, I thought after I’d finished it, that perhaps would have benefited by having its ‘Historical Note’ at the start. 1,771 more words

Fiction

Last Night at the Blue Angel by Rebecca Rotert

The vivid jazz scene in ’60s Chicago, an unconventional family and an utterly heart-stealing child.

In early 1960s Chicago, 10-year-old Sophia has no friends her own age. 295 more words

Book Reviews