Tags » Historical Fiction

Book Review: Death Quest (The Vikings! Trilogy #1) by Jay Palmer

DeathQuest (The VIKINGS! Trilogy Book 1) by Jay Palmer – 3 stars

Racial rivalries, religious hatreds, and a stolen treasury force Eric Bjornson to risk the lives of his beloved companions as a savage Viking horde of his own kinsmen, led by his best friend, chases him across England to settle a drunken blood-feud. 515 more words

Book Review

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Book: To Kill a Mockingbird

Author: Harper Lee

Blurb:

The unforgettable novel of a childhood in a sleepy Southern town and the crisis of conscience that rocked it, … 157 more words

Contemporary

The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro

Book: The Remains of the Day

Author: Kazuo Ishiguro

Blurb:

In 1956, Stevens, a long-serving butler at Darlington Hall, decides to take a motoring trip through the West Country. 120 more words

Book Reviews

The Native Star (Veneficas Americana #1) by M.K. Hobson

Book: The Native Star (Veneficas Americana #1)

Author: M.K. Hobson

Blurb:

In the tradition of Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell, this brilliant first novel fuses history, fantasy, and romance. 233 more words

Book Reviews

Review: The Shatter Me Series by Tahereh Mafi

At first glance, Tahereh Mafi’s Shatter Me series looks like your typical dystopian young adult novel. The world is in ruins, there is a totalitarian regime, people are starving, and our lead character has been locked up in an asylum for almost a year. 533 more words

Reviews

Review: John Kerr, Cardigan Bay

Charles Davenport is a thoughtful, dutiful officer in the British Army who is wounded at Tobruk in North Africa. Sent home to England to recuperate, he learns his wife Frances has had an affair and is seeking divorce. 484 more words

Review

Book Spotlight: Blood Divide by John Sadler

Publication Date: January 27, 2015 Lion Fiction Paperback; 352p ISBN: 978-1782640899

Genre: Historical Fiction

Gripping, visceral, and accessible historical fiction.

The Battle of Flodden in September 1513 was one of the bloodiest battles ever fought on British soil, in which James IV, King of Scots, and virtually the whole of his nobility and gentry were annihilated in an afternoon along with 15,000 soldiers. 347 more words