Tags » Kirkus Reviews

Kirkus: Pearl Cleage

While fiction writers often investigate and proclaim truths in imaginary realms, African-American women writers are noticeably rare when it comes to nonfiction confessional writing in the vein of Joan Didion or Nora Ephron. 153 more words

Really Nice Kirkus Review for Leaving the Beach

Today I’m very excited to share this positive review from Kirkus about my soon-to-be-released book, Leaving the Beach. The entire review can be read here… 230 more words

Leaving The Beach

Anybody's Daughter by Pamela Samuels Young (Spotlight)


ABOUT ANYBODY’S DAUGHTER


Title: Anybody’s Daughter
Author: Pamela Samuels Young
Genre: Mystery/Thriller
Publisher: Goldman House Publishing
Pages: 376

Purchase at AMAZON

Is Anybody’s Daughter Ever Safe? 1,309 more words

Book Reviews

Leigh Bardugo's RUIN AND RISING Gets a Starred Kirkus Review

If you were excited about reading the third and final book of Leigh Bardugo‘s Grisha trilogy, then this may make you even more excited, if that’s possible.   158 more words

Grisha Trilogy

All Things Murder News

I received two great pieces of news this week related to All Things Murder. First, Publishers Weekly posted their review of the cozy. The reviewer called it a “fun debut” and wrote that Veronica is “an entertaining, down-to-earth heroine.” You can read the entire review… 150 more words

All Things Murder

First official book review for LIFE: It Is What It Is is in!

OK, that whole KIRKUS REVIEW piece was hella nerve wracking. But SO worth it. Thanks, KIRKUSpeople!

KIRKUS REVIEWS—”Lisa Sugarman is a professional, accomplished writer, and her easy-to-read essays should prove smoothly satisfying to general readers. 6 more words

Lisa Sugarman

Pigeonholed

I think about genre a lot. I don’t mean in the sense that I’m trying to come to some kind of deeper understanding of a swath of literature, but in the sense that I still don’t understand it after all this time. 1,494 more words