Tags » Crime/Suspense

Some Stories Work Better Outside of a Book - A Review of The Supernatural Enhancements by Edgar Cantero

I’ll be honest: I judge books by their covers. If I see a book on a shelf with an interesting cover, I’m more likely to pick it up than a book that has a plain or otherwise boring cover. 1,791 more words

Books

Babysitting George Washington

My friend found a writing prompt on Pinterest and told me I had to write 500 words. This is what happened:

“Hello, George.” I sat across from the poor bewildered man in a powdered wig. 631 more words

Creative Writing

Mystery of Death Valley's Moving Rocks Solved

The first witnesses to an enduring natural mystery are an engineer, a biologist and a planetary scientist who met thanks to a remote weather station. 1,238 more words

Space

Liza O'Connor discusses The Troublesome Apprentice & her Typewriter

In The Troublesome Apprentice Vic types for so long she gets blisters on her fingertips.

For those of you who learned to type on keyboards, this no doubt sounds… 1,662 more words

General

Paw and Order - Book Review

Paw and Order: A Chet and Bernie Mystery #7
Author: Spencer Quinn
Publication: Atria Books, August, 2014
320 pages
Kindle, Hardcover, Paperback
Genre: Mystery
Content: Some violence. 491 more words

Book Lists

YA Review: HOW TO FALL by Jane Casey

I love a good, creepy YA mystery. This one I read in the spring, though it publishes in late summer. It appears to be the first of a series. 178 more words

Books Reviewed

Review: The Winter People by Rebekah L. Purdy (DNF)

An engrossing, complex, romantic fantasy perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore or Maggie Stiefvater, set in a wholly unique world.

Salome Montgomery fears winter—the cold, the snow, the ice, but most of all, the frozen pond she fell through as a child. 1,495 more words

Literature