Tags » Poor Law

Abilities first? Institutions for disabled children in Victorian and Edwardian Britain

By Lesley Hulonce

In 2001, Douglas Baynton observed that ‘disability is everywhere in history, once you begin looking for it, but conspicuously absent from the histories we write’. 2,218 more words


New English records at Findmypast

Findmypast has added over 541,000 new records including Dorset parish marriages, York marriage licences, Northamptonshire Hearth Tax records and London Poor Law records. 334 more words

Family History