Tags » Caine Prize

The 5 Writers Shortlisted for the 2018 Caine Prize

The shortlist for the 2018 Caine Prize has been announced. The Caine Prize is awarded to the best 3,000-10,000-word short story by an African writer. The 2017 prize was… 131 more words


Reading the Caine Prize for African Writing winners

The Caine Prize for African Writing is a literary prize for African writers of short stories in English. The inaugural 2000 Caine prize was awarded to the Sudanese writer Leila Aboulela for her short story “The Museum”, published in her short story collection… 258 more words


The Envoy Shorts: Roundup of 2017

Focus Area – Africa; Focus Country – South Sudan

A writer with Sudanese roots, Bushra al-Fadil, has been conferred with the 2017 Caine Prize for African Writing. 209 more words

Literary Corner

Kalahari Review no more takes part in the Caine Prize 

Kalahari Review, a Botswana based literary magazine has declared that it will no longer take part in the prestigious Caine Prize. Kalahari Review, today is one of Africa’s largest literary platforms having featured some of Africa’s best works. 115 more words

Horror at the Caine Prize 2017

Over at the Johannesburg Review of Books, Elinor Sisulu, a judge of the Etisalat Prize, gives an account of the 2017 edition. Her account mostly belongs in the travel writing genre, with names, places, and aw-shucks dropped, but at one point she makes a comment about her host’s relationship to literature. 1,050 more words


The Caine Prize- How to Enter... 

The Caine Prize for African Writing has been a major prize since its inception in 2000. The prize value is £10,000. Past winners include Nigeria’s Helon Habila (2001), Kenyan Bingivanya Wainaina(2002), Nigerian Babatunde Rotimi(2012) and Zibambwean NoViolet Bulawayo(2011). 331 more words