Tags » Calder Trophy

Auston Matthews Won The Calder Trophy Last Night

Like there was ever a doubt! Matthews led all rookies with 40 goals and was second in points with 69 (nice). Matthews also set/met a few Leaf milestones during his rookie year. 211 more words


Calder Trophy Finalists, Who Will Win?

With the NHL Awards just over a month away, the talk of who will win the Calder Trophy is present amongst hockey fans. The finalists for the trophy were no surprise this year, especially with rookies like Auston Matthews, Patrik Laine and Zach Werenski shining the moment they stepped out for their first NHL game. 339 more words


Winnipeg Jets' Patrik Laine named NHL rookie of the year finalist

WINNIPEG — Winnipeg Jets forward Patrik Laine has been nominated for the NHL’s Calder Trophy following a remarkable rookie season.

The 19-year-old is up against Auston Matthews of the Toronto Maple Leafs and Columbus Blue Jackets defenceman Zach Werenski for the rookie of the year award. 125 more words


NHL Playoffs: Expect The Unexpected

BY ERINN CASEY | Ball State Sports Link
People say in playoff hockey, more so than any other sport, anything can happen. I’ve never heard a truer statement. 692 more words

Ball State Sports Link

The Toronto effect: Does playing for the Maple Leafs help or hurt Auston Matthews' Calder Trophy candidacy?

TORONTO — The question did not make mention of Auston Matthews, Patrik Laine or the whole Calder Trophy debate. There was nothing said about whether playing in Toronto, rather than Winnipeg, helped or hurt a player’s popularity. 1,133 more words


By the numbers: Laine vs Matthews

With a little under 30 games left to play in the regular season, a lot of fans already have their locks for the Calder trophy. In all fairness to Zach Werenski, Mitch Marner, Matthew Tkachuk, William Nylander, Matt Murray and Sebastian Aho; there is no doubt that either Patrik Laine or Auston Matthews will be awarded this trophy. 707 more words


Auston Matthews or Patrik Laine? Remarkable rookie duo headlines crowded chase for Calder Trophy

NHL rookie classes like this one don’t come around very often.

Winnipeg Jets rookie Patrik Laine is the NHL’s first star of the week after an eight-point performance. 999 more words