Tags » Dharana


meditation is a big word.

dhyana – the Sanskrit term for meditation. but if we look at it really closely, what is being considered as meditation nowadays, really is a form of concentration. 527 more words



After a brief jaunt through the vayus, we now return to our regularly scheduled exploration of the limbs of Ashtānga Yoga.

Remember the stability of the consciousness that is cultivated through pranāyāma as described in sūtra 1.34? 367 more words

Ashtanga Yoga

8 paths of Yoga

We walk in life and we pick up pepples lying on the ground…each pebble is a skill of virtue and it becomes a part of who we end up to be at the end of our lives. 459 more words


The Picketed Fence Garden #shortstory

‘I don’t want to write a story today.’

How many times have you written that and then gone on to write a story?

‘Almost every time.’ 1,046 more words

My Posts - General

Yoga Break: Dharana

We’ve spent the past five weeks discussing Patanjali’s Eight Limbs of Yoga, with last week’s topic being Pratyahara (sensory withdrawal). As I mentioned then, the last four of the eight limbs are a bit less concrete (at least to the Western mind) and may take a little exploration before anything begins to click. 739 more words


Ashtanga Yoga & Asana, Pranayama, and Pratyahara

Before getting in the discussion of the first three themes that we will be discussing in the study group – January: Asana, February: Pranayama… 389 more words

Ashtanga Yoga

Peeling the layers

I have been busy peeling back layers in my house lately. It feels like a cleanse, like I’m purging the past of my home and bringing it to sit comfortably in the present. 495 more words