Tags » Elliot Perlman

A Fictional Insight into the Capitalist Plot

Last week I was midway through reading a big fat book that would not fit into my shoulder bag for a train journey. So I went to a dark corner of my library with its relatively small heap of unclassified books where I sometimes find a unread gem. 1,625 more words

Thinking

Seven Types of Ambiguity - Elliot Perlman

Seven Types of Ambiguity is a psychological thriller and a literary adventure of breathtaking scope. Celebrated as a novelist in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen and Philip Roth, Elliot Perlman writes of impulse and paralysis, empty marriages, lovers, gambling, and the stock market; of adult children and their parents; of poetry and prostitution, psychiatry and the law. 181 more words

Adult

A Writer Reads: What I Did This Summer

(a post from guest author Mary Burns)

Do I read more in Summer?  Probably.  The light lasts longer, the warm temperatures encourage sloth.  I see more of friends for… 677 more words

Mary Burns

Melbourne Jewish Writers Festival 2014

On Saturday night I went to the gala opening of the inaugural MJWF, held at the Glen Eira Town Hall. Hosted by comedian Rachel Berger, and with appearances by some of the featured writers from the festival, it was a fun… 2,404 more words

Books

Books: 4 Big, Unique Books I Love

Part of what I love about reading is getting lost in a world, and generally speaking, the more time I can spend in that world, the better. 553 more words

Authors

A bundle of good books

WHAT HAVE YOU BEEN READING LATELY?

I go through bouts with my reading. Sometimes for days, or even weeks, I am too busy or not inspired to pick up a book but then at other times I’m engulfed by the urge to read. 249 more words

International Authors

Seven Types of Ambiguity by Elliot Perlman

I read a lot of books. I am also a fairly timid book reviewer. It is rare for me to give a book a resounding 5/5 because I save that honor for the precious few that I love. 789 more words

Fiction