Tags » Epistolary Novels

Book Review: Letting Ana Go by Anonymous

Details

Title: Letting Ana Go
Author: Anonymous
Published in: 2013
Pages: 279
Genres: realistic fiction, contemporary fiction, mental illness

Summary

“In the tradition of Go Ask Alice and Lucy in the Sky, a harrowing account of anorexia and addiction. 1,064 more words

Contemporary Fiction

I Love Chris

In my supremely dorky universe, one of the best forms of joy is encountering a deliciously addictive book right after having dragged around a real literary ball-n-chain for a while. 792 more words

Clarissa - Samuel Richardson (progress report)

Inspired by I’ve Been Reading Lately, I’ve been reading Samuel Richardson’s great epistolary novel Clarissa on the dates the letters in the novel were written. 946 more words

Post

The Visits of Elizabeth

Elinor Glyn

I was unfamiliar with the work of Elinor Glyn, until my friend Mary Ronan Drew suggested this book. I’m so glad she did. This delightful account of a beautiful, naive ingenue who makes the rounds of her mother’s friends is a delightful tongue in cheek look at the upper class during the Edwardian period. 42 more words

Book Reviews

Lies About Books: Illuminae

As March goes out like a lamb (or possibly a lion), it is time once again to give a wholly unhelpful review of a book I enjoyed this month! 176 more words

Blatant Lies

Classic of the Month: The Tenant of Wildfell Hall

Thank you to those who recommended Anne Brontë’s The Tenant of Wildfell Hall (1848) as my classic for March. I’m glad I read it, not least because, like… 888 more words

Jane Austen

Narcissism for Beginners by Martine McDonagh

Don’t talk like we were stuck in a lift.

Why would I be missing you so violently?

We’re all the hero when directing the scene, 902 more words

Fiction Reviews