Tags » Fantasy Novels

Eight alternatives to swords

A great swordsman is a wonderful asset to any historical or fantasy novel, but it would be a pretty ordinary literary world, if the only weapon we ever came across in such literature was that versatile and elegant weapon.  785 more words

Historical Posts

Guards! Guards! by Terry Pratchett - A Book Review

My son finished reading Guards! Guards! by Terry Pratchett to me today, and as he deftly polished off the last few pages I found myself sadly thinking; ‘Goodness me. 417 more words

Funny Books For Children

The Shining Orb of Volney--a Review by J. D. Rempel

The Shining Orb of Volney, a fantasy/Sci-fi novel, is another great read by author and book reviewer, Donna Fujimoto. The story begins when 12-year-old Celeste and her 16-year-old cousin, Ariana, are kidnapped. 359 more words

Book Reviews

#BookReview Tour - THE PHOENIX BORN (A Dance of Dragons #3) by Kaitlyn Davis #fantasy #dragons

From bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis comes the final book in the thrilling A Dance of Dragons series—perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Graceling, and Game of Thrones! 1,392 more words

Fantasy Novels

#Sale - Roy Huff's EVERVILLE BOXSET #99c & #FREE 'Everville - The Fall of Brackenbone'

A quick heads up – Roy Huff’s hugely successful EVERVILLE series is on promotion for a few days.


Everville book 4, THE FALL OF BRACKENBONE is free from 22nd – 26th November. 614 more words

Fantasy Novels

The Wee Free Men, by Terry Pratchett

Another entry in my on-going complete Discworld re-read… although actually this one I was reading for the first time.

Well, I’m in two minds about this one – perhaps that’s why it’s taken me so long to get around to reviewing it. 3,041 more words