Tags » Gertrude Stein » Page 2

Made The Sausage Is How

Poems are just words in rows
While everyone’s got lots of those
The order that the poet chose
Is key–excepting, I suppose
When Gertrude Stein defined her Rose

Poetry

Recommended Reading: A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway

I picked up A Moveable Feast for the first time about 15 years ago in the Shakespeare & Company near Hunter College (I hope it’s still there…I really don’t know). 1,396 more words

Books And Reading

They said it

There ain’t no answer. There ain’t going to be an answer. There never has been an answer. That’s the answer.
– Gertrude Stein (1874-1946)

Religion

Paris, but not Quite

It is difficult to resist the siren song of Paris when I am so close to its attractions. I find myself with a three hour layover between my arrival from Auxerre, and my departure for Germany. 653 more words

Travel

Short story: Walls like Skin, Soft as Paper by Adam Callaway (2013), listened to on the Beneath Ceaseless Skies podcast, episode 113. Highly Recommended. … 51 more words

Ray Bradbury Challenge

Poet-delphia -- at the Salon!

Jim Cory keeping the spoken — and written word alive and strong (in the tradition of Gertrude Stein or Natalie Barney)– observed my friend Maria Fama who was sitting next to me. 53 more words

Lgbt

'I knelt and started to pray and prayed for everybody I thought of': Ernest Hemingway's The Sun Also Rises

In October 1926 the publication of a novel by a relatively unknown 27-year-old American writer caused a literary sensation. The novel was The Sun Also Rises… 1,225 more words

Classics