Tags » Historical Novel

BOOK REVIEW - Day by AL Kennedy

It was quite apt РFinishing Day by A.L. Kennedy during the week of Armistice Day.

I’ve been close to Alfred as his (second world) war has been gradually revealed to me. 388 more words

Writing

Self's Main Character Reads Don Quijote

Self is just one page shy of her quota for the day!

The following conversation takes place on p. 64 of her novel-in-progress:

“You call it courage to bear ridicule?”

38 more words
Books

Munich, by Robert Harris

Summary: a tense journey to the heart of banal darkness

As Hitler masses his troops on the border with Czechoslovakia, threatening an invasion that will draw Britain and France into a general European conflagration, Chamberlain, the British Prime Minister contemplates how to avoid war. 239 more words

Book Review

FaceBook Launch Party

I’m taking part in the Women’s Fiction Writers Association launch party tomorrow, Tuesday, November 14. My slot is:

11:30 am PST, 2:30 pm EST or 7:30 pm UK… 40 more words

Women's History

Review: Beck

Beck written by Mal Peet with Meg Rosoff

Beck was shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal 2017. I often use this shortlist as a guide. The books on it are normally thought provoking and good for children/teenagers. 270 more words

Book Review

Sunday Snippet, Mud.

A Formulaic Romance

This is the start of another story Amelia and I are putting together. There’s a pun in the title that will become obvious in time. 816 more words

Writing

Review: Love and Other Consolation Prizes by Jamie Ford

Title:  Love and Other Consolation Prizes
Author: Jamie Ford
Genre: Historical Novel
Source: The publisher
Publisher: Allison & Busby (12th September 2017)
Blurb:

1909, Seattle. At the World’s Fair a half-Chinese boy called Ernest Young is raffled off as a prize.

599 more words
Book Review