Tags » Iain Banks

The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks

“It was just a stage I was going through.”

For some reason, I’d always thought this was a coming-of-age story in the vein of Black Swan Green or Catcher in the Rye. 405 more words

Book Reviews

A bit of ambition

Before you decide whether or not to delve into the following passage, I should probably add some context. I’m a fairly big, but new, fan of Iain (sporadic M.) Banks. 1,282 more words

Blog

Espedair Street by Iain Banks

Espedair Street is the second Iain Banks’ book I’ve read in the past year. My new plan is to save the books of his which I haven’t read for when I am in a reading rut, because after reading Espedair Street and The Quarry, I feel as if I can rely on his stories to be entertaining. 644 more words

Book Review

Opher Goodwin is pleased to announce that his new Sci-fi novel - 'Destination Self' - is available on kindle and can be purchased for a modest £1.99.

Following a forty five year career writing I am pleased to announce the release of my twenty first publication on Amazon.

‘Destination Self’ is a Sci-fi novel that I first wrote in 1974. 34 more words

Zeitgeist

Espedair Street.. Like a shattered stained glass window

Right, well, what a bloody journey.. I’d be tempted to describe it as an ordeal, which of course is not necessarily a bad comment. The motion sickness, oh Lord the motion sickness! 1,257 more words

Book

Top ten all time favourite authors

Top Ten Tuesday, as brought to the blogosphere by The Broke and the Bookish, is a weekly feature for anyone fond of lists and fond of books. 65 more words

Books

My problem is you!

That Blog title feels quite personal, doesn’t it? You’re thinking, what have I done to upset Justine? We always got along so well, didn’t we? Rest assured, I’m talking about the second-person narrative point of view ‘you’, not you-you, silly. 330 more words

Writing