Tags » Icelandic Crime Fiction

The Killing Times Podcast: Episode 7, Lilja Sigurðardóttir & Quentin Bates

In this Iceland Noir special, we’re joined by Lilja Sigurðardóttir and Quentin Bates.

Lilja Sigurðardóttir was born in Iceland in 1972, and has written six books, two of which – Snare and Trap – have been translated into English by Quentin Bates and have been released in the UK by Orenda books.  61 more words


Iceland Noir dispatches: Day one

As regular readers will know, we like to get out and about and attend as many crime fiction festivals as possible. Not only are they fun, but they’re also inspirational and you never know what kind of gossip you’re going to pick up along the way – we’ve found out some exclusive television option news at these kinds of thing before. 606 more words

Blackout: Ragnar Jónasson

The first book in Ragnar Jónasson’s  Dark Iceland series, Snowblind, introduced rookie policeman Ari Thor. Set during Iceland’s financial crisis, Ari, a Reykjavik resident and former theology student, takes a job in far-way Siglufjördur. 358 more words


Book review: Silence of the Grave, by Arnaldur Indriðason

Arnaldur Indriðason is an Icelandic crime novelist who has won the Glass Key Award (twice), the CWA Gold Dagger, and the RBA Prize for Crime Writing. 495 more words

Lilja Sigurðardóttir's Snare optioned for television

Lilja Sigurðardóttir is part of the new wave of Icelandic crime fiction, a now burgeoning and internationally-recognised source of mystery and thriller stories.

The island’s crime fiction community is indebted to the likes of pioneers like Arnaldur Indriðason, Árni Þórarinsson and Yrsa Sigurðardóttir, who forged a furrow for the likes of Lilja and Ragnar Jonasson and others to follow. 403 more words


Book review: The Darkness, by Ragnar Jónasson

Ragnar Jónasson is an Icelandic crime fiction writer who has rapidly established a reputation for sharp, sparse, noirish crime novels through his five-book ‘Dark Iceland’ series that follows the exploits of Detective Ari Thór Arason. 266 more words

The Legacy

Author: Yrsa Sigurdardottir

Translator: Victoria Cribb

Country: Iceland

Publisher: Hodder UK

If you like crime fiction dark and engaging look no further. The Legacy is a cracking start to a new series by Yrsa Sigurdardottir, based around a children’s home in Reykjavik, Iceland. 446 more words

Crime Fiction