Tags » J D Salinger » Page 2

The Catcher in The Rye by J.D. Salinger

What makes a book great? Some books regularly show up on “the greatest list” of literature and many are almost entirely unread or unreadable by contemporary audiences. 338 more words

Literature

READING LISTS: Books That Have Sentimental Value

If you’re anything like me then you probably have an unhealthy attachment to most books. You can’t bear to get rid of them, even though their piled up under your bed, in your cupboard, one literary Jenga game waiting to tumble down and knock you senseless. 691 more words

Book Blog

Two on Salinger

current reading –

The book that Streitfeld has edited isn’t really full of interviews of J. D. Salinger, because Salinger never willingly gave interviews.

Some of these pieces are encounters milked out of him when he felt wronged and wanted to set the record straight.   218 more words

Three Favourite Books I First Read in School

We’ve all been at school and been forced to read books, poems and plays to prepare for an exam or study for your coursework. Normally this means you don’t particularly like the books, or you might even hate it. 536 more words

Review: Bookishly Tea and Book Club

Bookishly is a bookworm’s dream. Packed full of literary gifts and accessories, you can picked themed goodies for fans of Alice in Wonderland and Jane Austen… 288 more words

Lifestyle

Top Ten Autumnal Covers

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the wonderful The Broke and The Bookish. This week’s list is a cover list. We all like an appealing cover. 89 more words

Top Ten Tuesday

The Catcher in the Rye and Phoniness

The consentient praise and admiration showered upon J.D. Salinger’s greatest masterpiece, The Catcher in the Rye, has but one primary shortcoming: instilling murderous rage within the hearts of marginalized white men. 979 more words

The Opiate