Tags » Jenny Lawson

Depression Lies

Yesterday, I scavenged the internet for jobs, internships, volunteer opportunities, applying for interviews and orientations like a madwoman. Today, I fall asleep in tears near 1am with pages of research on “suicidal gestures” and “why am I suicidal” exposed in my Google history. 484 more words

Introduction

I have a lot of problems. I’m 20 years old, have fibromyalgia, Von Hippel Lindau disease, depression, anxiety, post traumatic stress disorder, and too many student loans. 263 more words

Fibromyalgia

Bad Thoughts and Tattoos

Sometimes I have bad thoughts. We all do. I find that mine fall into three groups.

The first kind of bad thoughts are when I want to snap or snipe or snark at my husband, despite the fact that he is indispensable to me. 627 more words

Mental Health

The Ultimate Ramadan Joy Challenge

So recently an older friend of mine celebrated a birthday, and her post on Instagram reminded me of why I love her so much. She wrote about how grateful she was for the people in her life and how excited she is to watch the next year unfold. 1,601 more words

May 13: 12 Facts About the Hospital

  1. I am one of the oldest ones there, a situation I am not used to, having skipped eighth grade a long time ago. There is a 10-year-old who keeps shoving a toothbrush down her throat, a 14-year-old who has cuts all down her wrists, a 16-year-old who lost his younger sister to gang violence.
  2. 263 more words

Let's Pretend this never Happened by Jenny Lawson

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris – Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.

Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives – the ones we’d like to pretend never happened – are in fact the ones that define us.

255 more words
Bookworm

Friday Reads: Mental Health Awareness Month

May is Mental Health Awareness Month, which started in 1949 to spread awareness and combat negative stigmas around mental health issues. Mental health is an integral part of a person’s overall health and well-being. 602 more words

Friday Reads