Tags » Matthew Hopkins

The Witch Trials and the beginning of Soddenham

Before Soddenham, there was an unspoken and unacknowledged awareness of people who lived ‘in the wilds’; a rough triangle that sits between Swaffham, Dereham and Thetford. 1,198 more words

Soddenham

Book Review: Witch Hunt by Syd Moore

Witch Hunt by Syd Moore
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

After a promising start, this book seemed to cruise along at a leisurely pace until the final three or four chapters. 319 more words

Book Review

The Witchfinder's Sister - Beth Underdown

What’s it all about?:

THE MOST THRILLING HISTORICAL DEBUT OF 2017

Based on the shocking true story of the infamous witchfinder Matthew Hopkins, this haunting and gripping novel is perfect for fans of The Miniaturist, Sarah Waters and The Essex Serpent. 798 more words

Book Reviews

Book Review | The Witchfinder's Sister by Beth Underdown

Hey Everyone,

How are you?

I have another book review for you today, I also have my Stars Hollow Monthly Subscription box to do soon but I wanted to do this review while it is still fresh in my mind which is the troubling thing for me when it comes to writing reviews, I always do it on my day off and sometimes I would’ve finished the book about a week before. 420 more words

Book Review

#Review The Witchfinder's Sister @bethunderdown @VikingBooksUK

** My thanks to the publisher for my copy of this book **

Description:

The number of women my brother Matthew killed, so far as I can reckon it, is one hundred and six…’ 708 more words

The Witchfinder's Sister

The year is 1645 and, like much of the country, the Civil War has riddled Essex with widows and death.

As social decorum decays, petty disputes turn to suspicion and frenzy. 693 more words

Historical Fiction

Beth Underdown - The Witchfinder's Sister

A lot of people have heard of Matthew Hopkins. The self-styled Witchfinder General was responsible for the deaths of an estimated three hundred women in just over two years, from 1644 to 1646. 481 more words

Book Reviews