Tags » Minkus

Something Stale

After seeing two performances of Natalia Makarova’s La Bayadère at American Ballet Theatre I was left feeling that the ballet has gone a bit stale. You can read my review of the two casts, for DanceTabs, … 15 more words

Nikiya & Solor in the Kingdom of the Shades

Solor’s entrance and pas de deux from the “Kingdom of the Shades” scene, La Bayadère

choreography: Marius Petipa
music: Ludwig Minkus

Cecília Kerche and Fernando Bujones


Paquita streamed live from Munich

Free live webstream of Paquita performed by the Bavarian State Ballet
Sunday, January 11 at 18.00 CET
(12:00 pm EST, 9:00 am PST)

Marius Petipa’s… 224 more words


A Breath of Milan

Five days, four nights that is, in Milan has flown by in a blink of an eye, but of one thing I am certain: I will return. 583 more words


Girl Meets Nostalgia: Maya and Shawn

Since like, most of Girl Meets Nostalgia has been boiling down to this, because I mean, really, I figured we should just get right into it. 650 more words


Ballet as Pop Art

I think it’s safe to say that no-one dances Don Quixote like the Bolshoi. The ballet is shallow, it’s showy, but, particularly in the first act, its exuberance is a kind of paean to the art form itself, the joy of the stage, the stirring effect of dozens of bodies moving with the kind of amplitude and produced by years and years of training. 26 more words