Tags » Old Order Amish

William G. Davis helps the Old Order Mennonites and Amish to prosper

The 1960s brought dramatic changes to public elementary education in Ontario. In February 1964 Minister of Education William G. Davis (later Premier), in the words of one historian, “turned to the century-old problem of the rural elementary schools.” Although a lot of amalgamation had already taken place to unite the old one- or two-room schools into larger centralized schools, 1500 rural school boards still operated in 1964. 485 more words


“When the Soul Mends” by Cindy Woodsmall

“When the Soul Mends” by Cindy Woodsmall is Book Three in the Sisters of the Quilt series.  I enjoyed reading this novel; however I would have read the other two books first had I known how difficult it would be to follow this one. 134 more words

Book Review

"Plain" geometry

I have lived among “the plain people,” as the Amish are sometimes called, for more than 30 years. Over the years, I have marveled at the groupings of their nondescript buildings, the simple beauty of the textured angles. 59 more words


Old Order Amish males: the perfect subpopulation for tobacco research?

Image taken in Lancaster County on 19th March 1941 by Irving Rusinow

By Brave New World

Despite first being linked to cancer in 1950, tobacco continues to be a major public health threat and is responsible for nearly… 330 more words

North America

What is our heritage?

One day, about twenty-five years ago, my wife and I were visiting in the home of an Old Order Amish couple. The husband was not ordained at the time, but is now the bishop of his Old Order Amish community. 407 more words

Faith And Life