Tags » Origin Stories

Origin Stories: Roland, mechanics

Last time I presented the backstory of Roland, an Aasimar paladin. This time I’ll discuss how I created this character. This was kind of a case of group need driving character creation, although I had an archetype in mind for the character I’d use. 1,049 more words

Dungeons And Dragons

Origin Stories: Roland, backstory

As I’ve discussed on Twitter, I’ve started a new 5e D&D campaign as a player (the first time I’ve been a player in a few years). 512 more words

Dungeons And Dragons

Gregory Maguire's 'Hiddensee' Is A Grown Up Fairytale [REVIEW]

Most all of us grew up with fairy tales. But let’s be honest, these days we’re used to the homogenized Disney versions rather than the darker folk tales penned by the Brothers Grimm or even E. 691 more words

Books

Jathan Fink reblogged this on Jadeworks Entertainment and commented:

Fans of Wicked and Still Alice rejoice! Gregory Maguire is back and this time out he is tackling the tale of the Nutcracker. But brace yourself, this story isn't all hearts and flowers and sugarplum fairies.

At Rise: Best Phone Call Ever

Thursday, November 2nd 2017

AT RISE:  Driving kids to school, Mom is telling story of how once B.K. (Before Kids),  Mom & Dad were finishing up a wonderful date sailing on the Charles River when they discovered their cell phones had been on an active call with each other the… 78 more words

Childhood

ORIGIN STORY: MissJennocide

Hi everyone, I’m MissJennocide and this is just a short segment on me and how I became a cosplayer.

DCIM100GOPROGOPR1262.JPG

DCIM100GOPROGOPR0333.JPG

My first convention was in 2014, that was a rough year for me because my mom passed away. 397 more words

ORIGIN STORIES

How did I get here? Well that's a story... 

(When I imagine telling my library origin story I’m in a bar; a disaster of some nature has happened and not only am I a librarian, I’m a hard drinking freedom fighter with scars and leather pants, meeting slightly dangerous men (in that classic romance novel sense), to carry out some covert task that would probably get me shot if I was ever caught.  1,146 more words

Is It Just Me? 

You guys use Twitter? Everyone have a Facebook account? Anyone ever hear of WordPress?

If you’re a writer of any sorts, or you’re like me and pretend to be one, you’ve rooted around your social media applications (or SMAs as the kids are calling them these days) for writers’  319 more words

Writing