Tags » Parliamentary Debate

The Year in Review: Literary, Debating and Quizzing Committee

Members: Harshit Kohli (Convener), Raunaq Chandrashekar, Shreya Raman (Co-Convener), Divisha Mehta, Somil Garg, Arpit Aggarawal, Kaustub Narendran, Aslisha Batheja, Anmol Mittal, Aakansha Bhardwaj

The Literary, Debating and Quizzing Committee continued its desperate fight for relevance on an increasingly crowded campus. 455 more words


Brexit fast become fiction?

I’m having more strange thoughts about this Brexit job!

Will Brexit happen? I keep asking myself.  With the UK PM’s delay is committing to anything makes me wonder, especially nearly after three months after holding the referendum. 125 more words

To Corbyn or not to Corbyn?

To Corbyn or not to Corbyn? That is the question for some people. Amidst all the shuffling of seats in the Tory Government’s new cabinet and all the shenanigans in the Labour Party, the debates on the Chilcot Report on Iraq have been quietly side-lined in the mainstream media (though BBC Radio 4 has managed to continue to cover the issue in a measured way in their PM programme). 613 more words

Personal Reflections

‘Speaking in Parliament: History, politics, rhetoric’ conference report

Last week, in collaboration with Professor Christopher Reid (Queen Mary, University of London, author of ‘Imprison’d Wranglers: the Rhetorical Culture of the House of Commons’) we hosted a conference dedicated to the art and history of parliamentary rhetoric. 1,359 more words

Early Modern History

HS2 IN HANSARD 22/03/16


The Minister of State, Department for Transport (Mr Robert Goodwill): I have today laid before Parliament a departmental minute from the Department for Transport describing the contingent liability arising from an indemnity that will be provided to Affinity Water Ltd, protecting them from financial loss as a result of any construction damage to at-risk water resources from the construction of the Phase One, London to West Midlands HS2 rail line. 367 more words

Parliamentary Debate

HS2 in Hansard 21/03/16

The Secretary of State for Transport (Mr Patrick McLoughlin): Today HS2 Ltd has published its reporton “Broad options for upgraded and high speed railways 55WS Written Statements 21 MARCH 2016 Written Statements 56WS to the North of England and Scotland.” I am grateful to HS2 Ltd for its report, which fulfils the remit we gave it, exploring options to: improve journey times from Edinburgh and Glasgow to cities further south, including options that could reduce journey times to London to 3 hours or under; provide additional passenger and freight capacity where it is projected that future demand will not otherwise be met. 349 more words

Parliamentary Debate