Tags » Richard Peck

Book Review - The Teachers Funeral

Last week while browsing the Young Adult audio book section I came across the title The Teachers Funeral – A Comedy In Three Parts to listen to with my children in the car while we made our daily trip to my oldest daughter swim lessons. 180 more words

Family

Review: Something Upstairs

If you are looking for a ghost story for children, get The Ghost Belonged To Me by Richard Peck. If you are still in the mood for ghost stories, … 267 more words

Book Review

A Little Inspiration

Try to love the questions themselves, like locked rooms and like books written in a foreign language…

— R.M. Rilke, Letters to a Young Poet

Writing Life

Reading With Pearl - July 2015

The Gammage Cup – Carol Kendall (A Voyager Book, 1969)

I first read The Gammage Cup at school in grade seven and loved it. While it doesn’t quite stand up to an adult reading, it’s still a fun read. 551 more words

Book Reviews

Fair Weather

Foals in the field,

the summer cat out the door –

fair weather.

The books:

FOALS IN THE FIELD by Ben M. Baglio – One of the fun Animal Ark series chapter books. 87 more words

Book Spine Poetry

Review: The Mouse with the Question Mark Tail by Richard Peck

Newbery Award-winning author Richard Peck is at his very best in this fast-paced mystery adventure. Fans of The Tale of Desperaux, A Little Princess, and Stuart Little will all be captivated by this memorable story of a lovable orphan mouse on an amazing quest. 371 more words

Review

Richard Peck Writer Quotes

Richard Peck, born April 10, 1934 (age 81)is an American novelist, particularly for young adults. He taught junior high and high school English. He left teaching in 1971 to write his first novel, Don’t Look and It Won’t Hurt,  in 1972, in which “A teenage girl struggles to understand her place within her family and in the world.” He has written a book each year since then, totaling 41 books in 41 years. 321 more words

Julaina Kleist-Corwin