Tags » Sled Dogs

Alaska: Denali National Park and Preserve - Part II: July 2017

Last week we left off on the way to the sled dog demonstration. Denali National Park and Preserve is the only national park that uses sled dogs. 860 more words

Travel Tales

Denali NP sled dogs and blogger meet-up

Welcome to the fifth installment of the Bucket List: Alaska series. If you are just joining us, you can go back to read the start of our Alaska adventure in Anchorage  868 more words

Fun

TS Radio: "Voices Carry for Animals #161" - Humane Mushing- Ashley Keith

***Tune In Tuesday*** On Nov 21st, 2017 at 7:00 pm CST***

LISTEN LIVE HERE

5:00 pm PST … 6:00 pm MST … 7:00 pm CST … 370 more words
TS Radio

Training The Recreational Sled Dog - Part 2

This post is a continuation from last weeks initial post in our recreational dog sledding series.

Once you have the correct size sledding harness you will want to change over to that exclusively for training. 1,120 more words

Clicker Training

Race Report: SDAS Kershope 11th&12th November 2017

By Tracy Thomas

Thank you very much for continuing to sponsor the SDAS championship series,

Situated on the border, Kershope Forest found itself hosting the second championship race of the Sled Dog Association of Scotland last weekend bringing competitors from far and wide. 651 more words

Working Dogs

The plot thickens

A month on from the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race’s first, publicly reported case of doping, four-time champ Dallas Seavey has hired a self-proclaimed San Fransisco “fixer” to clear him of doping accusations, and one of the many volunteers who make The Last Great Race a reality is questioning Seavey’s claim his team was sabotaged in Nome. 2,824 more words

News

The Last Place on Earth

Week 3: F 10 November 2017, 23:54. Cape Shirreff, Livingston Island, Antarctica

This past summer on Buldir I was entertained by factoids shared by Kevin and McKenzie from the book “The Last Place on Earth: Amundsen and Scott’s Race for the South Pole.” At the time, my… 697 more words

Fieldwork