Tags » South Bend Silver Hawks

New South Bend mascot name chosen by fans

An abbreviated automobile name outraced a political moniker as “Stu” was revealed Friday as the name of the South Bend Cubs’ new mascot.

The team asked fans to submit name suggestions and vote on four finalists — Stu, Colfax, Harry Berry and Ben D. 196 more words

Midwest League

Snowbound stadiums of the Midwest League, Feb. 2015 edition

For baseball fans, there’s a warm feeling associated with the start of spring training. But for those of us in the Midwest, single-digit temperatures and wind chills in the negative teens serve as a not-so-subtle reminder that it is still winter. 232 more words

Midwest League

Padres announce TinCaps coaching staff

The Fort Wayne TinCaps will be managed by Francisco Morales this year, the San Diego Padres announced today.

“I’m excited to be joining the Fort Wayne community and to work with the TinCaps family,” Morales said in a press release. 347 more words

Midwest League

Report: Morales to be new TinCaps manager

The Journal Gazette reported this afternoon that Francisco Morales will manage the Fort Wayne TinCaps this year.

Morales was the hitting coach of the Double-A San Antonio Missions last year. 91 more words

Midwest League

Eight of top 11 prospects played in Midwest League

The Midwest League continues to be a conduit through which many of baseball’s top prospects pass. The latest evidence of this comes from MLB.com’s recently-released list of top prospects… 541 more words

Midwest League

Three former Midwest Leaguers given 50-game bans

Four minor-league players were given 50-game suspensions Thursday after testing positive for banned drugs.

Three of the suspended players are former Midwest Leaguers: Cleveland Indians RHP Duke von Schamann, Minnesota Twins RHP Hudson Boyd and free-agent RHP Chris Capper. 125 more words

Midwest League

South Bend Cubs unveil image of new mascot

The South Bend Cubs unveiled an image of their new mascot today and are asking for fans’ help in naming him.

The South Bend mascot resembles Clark the Cub, mascot of the team’s parent club, the Chicago Cubs. 127 more words

Midwest League