Tags » Stanford

Katie Ledecky beaten by Simone Manuel, still sets two personal bests in 25 minutes

The legend of Katie Ledecky grows, even with a defeat.

In one of the greatest short-course-yards doubles in history, Ledecky broke the American record in the 400-yard individual medley and then lowered her personal best in the 200-yard free by a half-second in a 25-minute span at the Pac-12 Championships on Friday. 396 more words

Olympics

Friday Live Blog – February 24, 2017

Friday, February 24
Scores Watch 6:00 ET/3:00 PT – Maryland, Temple, Southern Connecticut, West Chester (@ Philadelphia, PA) 7:00 ET/4:00 PT – Missouri @ [3] Florida… 5,426 more words
Live Blog

Intellectual monocultures

I came across an article that I’ve been thinking about for a few days. I thought I would simply post some thoughts. They may not be well-formed, and my views could certainly change. 787 more words

Science

Katie Ledecky's latest American record faster than Ryan Lochte at same age

Katie Ledecky not only lowered another one of her American records on Thursday, but the 19-year-old also went faster in the 500-yard freestyle than Ryan Lochte  444 more words

Olympics

[Day 290] Did Viraj Mehta really flip off American people on TV?

Being off Facebook, I’ve been entirely oblivious to my friend Viraj’s famed middle-finger. I knew that he has been on Jeopardy and I knew that he’s had some pretty impressive win — the rock I live under isn’t that big — but I wasn’t aware that there was more to that. 408 more words

Stanford