Tags » Stella Prize

Meet Inga Simpson

Interview by Nicole Melanson ~

Inga Simpson is the author of the novels Nest and Mr Wigg. She is also the winner of the 2012 Eric Rolls Nature Writing Prize. 1,103 more words

Interviews With Writers

The roll out of the Stella Prize Schools Program

Look out Victoria – here comes the Stella Prize Schools Program and

….. it sounds awesome!!

Knowing that the best way to encourage students to read and develop a love of literature is by harnessing the interest, knowledge and support of teachers – Teacher Librarians and English Teachers in particular – the Stella Prize is creating a buzz with the offering of some interesting opportunities which start – TODAY!!

15 more words
Books & Reading

Debuts from Australia and South Africa

I love reading books from other cultures and find that not many of them make it in to our shelves in the US. One way I have found to discover new authors from overseas is to follow books that win prizes, the only problem is that there is often a gap between when a book gets published overseas and when it makes it to the US. 352 more words

Stella Prize 2015 Shortlist

I rarely write longlist, shortlist and winner posts, but for the Stella Prize I don’t mind making an exception. Last month, I posted on the longlist, and yesterday, the… 307 more words

Australian Literature

Prizes - Hazel Rowley, Stella and more

The 2015 Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship was won by Caroline Baum.  Baum, a freelance journalist, broadcaster and editorial director of Booktopia, will use the $10,000 fellowship to write a biography of Lucie Dreyfus, the wife of Alfred Dreyfus, who was falsely charged with treason in the late 19th century. 186 more words


The 2015 Stella Prize Shortlist announced!

The shortlist for the 2015 Stella Prize has just been announced, and what an exciting list of Australian authors it is!

Named after one of Australia’s most important female authors, Stella Maria Miles Franklin, The Stella Prize celebrates Australian women’s contribution to literature, awarded last year to Clare Wright for… 1,659 more words

Australian Author

2015 Stella Prize

The Stella Prize is a major literary award celebrating Australian women’s writing. It is named after one of Australia’s iconic female authors, Stella Maria ‘Miles’ Franklin ( 381 more words