Tags » Ticker

Saudi Arabia Tests Japan-Inspired "Nap Pods" for #Hajj2018

Mecca, Saudi Arabia: Mansour al-Amer swipes a card to reveal a narrow sleep pod, reminiscent of Japan’s famed capsule hotels. But this pod is in Saudi Arabia, where the Muslim hajj pilgrimage begins Sunday. 355 more words

World News

Kofi Annan, former UN secretary general, dies

Kofi Annan, the former United Nations secretary general, has died at the age of 80 after a short illness, his family and foundation announced on Saturday. 124 more words

World News

Situation Report: Army rush in to help rescue efforts #KeralaFlood, #India

India’s army is stepping up efforts to rescue thousands of people stranded by flooding across India’s southern Kerala state that has killed 324 people.

Hundreds of troops, and dozens of boats and helicopters are helping to evacuate people from what officials say is the worst flooding there in a century. 665 more words

World News

Imran Khan confirmed as Pakistan Prime Minister

Former cricket star Imran Khan has been elected prime minister of Pakistan in a vote at the country’s National Assembly.

His PTI party won the most seats in July’s elections – setting up Mr Khan to become PM with the help of small parties, more than two decades after he first entered politics. 404 more words

World News

Muslim Job Applicant Who Refused Handshake Wins Discrimination Case in Sweden

STOCKHOLM — A Muslim woman in Sweden who said she was discriminated against in a job interview for refusing to shake hands on religious grounds has been awarded financial compensation by a labor court. 876 more words


324 killed in India floods: new official toll

Kochi (India) (AFP) – Hundreds of troops led a desperate operation to rescue families trapped by mounting floods in India’s Kerala state Thursday as the death toll reached 300 with nearly 150,000 left homeless. 635 more words

World News

No more house sales to foreigners in NewZealand

New Zealand’s parliament has banned many foreigners from buying existing homes in the country – a move aimed at making properties more affordable.

The ban only applies to non-residents. 355 more words

World News