Tags » WOOD, Charlotte

2016 Queensland Literary Awards shortlists

Shamelessly lifted from the QLA website, here are the 2016 shortlists for the Queensland Literary Awards.  Links go to the QLA book info pages and to my reviews. 602 more words


2016 Miles Franklin Literary Award Shortlist

The Miles Franklin Literary Award shortlist was announced today … here they are in the order they were tweeted. Tip: do not waste your time following the official Twitterfeed … it’s 12.18 now and The Guardian has already posted an article about the shortlist but the official MF Twitter page is still proudly telling us that the announcement will be made shortly, a tweet posted two hours ago. 272 more words

Miles Franklin Nominations

Wood's decision to keep all her prize money reflects the values of the Stella

Camilla Nelson, University of Notre Dame Australia

Charlotte Wood has won the fourth annual Stella Prize for The Natural Way of Things, a dark and dangerous book shot through with a kind of feminist rage that – after decades of anti-feminist backlash – is long overdue. 743 more words


2016 Kibble and Dobbie Longlists

Phew! it’s getting hard to keep up with all the awards!

This is the longlist for the Dobbie Literary Award for a first time published author ($5,000 prize) 207 more words


Combined reviews: The Natural Way of Things, by Charlotte Wood

I am so very late to the party with this one that I really can’t think of anything original to say about Charlotte Wood’s The Natural Way of Things.   752 more words


2016 Miles Franklin Literary Award Longlist

There are some interesting choices on this year’s Miles Franklin Literary Award longlist… here they are:

Ghost River by Tony Birch, UQP, see my review… 142 more words

Miles Franklin Nominations

Review: The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood

The Natural Way of Things isn’t a novel I ‘enjoyed’ in the traditional sense. Sure, it’s engrossing, and you’re likely to tear through over a couple of reading stints – but it’s an uncomfortable read. 262 more words

Book Review